Lahore: Lahore Development Authority (LDA) began surveys of the commercial plaza in Lahore, Kasur, Shiekhupura and Nankana districts, according to a news report.

The survey in Lahore will begin on 18 major roads in the city while in Kasur, Shiekhupura and Nankana, it will done all major roads and commercial centres. The roads in Lahore include Zafar Ali Road, Garden Town, Township, Khayaban-e-Jinnah, Canal Bank Road, Raiwind Road, Khayaban-e-Firdousi, Bypass Road Johar Town, Wahdat Road, Abu-ul-Hasan Isfahani Raod, Maulana Shaukat Ali Road, Jail Road and Defence Road.

The report also quoted LDA DG Zahid Zaman as saying that under temporary commercialisation policy, the owners are not allowed to change the original building designs but that the rules are not being followed. He added that the CM Punjab Shahbaz Sharif had given LDA a carte blanche for the policies and strategies to achieve this. He further said that LDA would also suggest amendments to laws to end the temporary commercialisation policy.